TOP 6 Strategies To Maintain Marketability THROUGHOUT Your Career

MAINTAIN MARKETABILITY THROUGHOUT YOUR CAREER
Most individuals identify with what they do for a living. When you are faced with turmoil in your career it can also have a negative impact on your level of self-esteem. If you master these strategies, you will retain your confidence and self-esteem throughout your entire career! Your accomplishments and the impact you had on past employers will help you consistently advance in your career.

STRATEGY #1 – EMBRACE CHANGE 
The only certainty in the job market is change. Being perceived as someone who embraces change enhances your value to your employer.

STRATEGY #2 – RETAIN AND BUILD YOUR NETWORK 
Your network must be one of your priorities throughout your entire career. More than 55% of individuals, who make a career change, do so as a result of referrals from their network. It is important to build lifetime contacts in your professional network which can be enhanced by using social media.

STRATEGY #3 – STAY INFORMED
It is important for you to stay informed about your industry. This includes products, competition, as well as economic conditions. You need to recognize trends and be aware of what is going on around you. This will help you remain knowledgeable and become a valued employee to a prospective employer.

STRATEGY #4 – HANDLE ADVERSITY 
You will face adversity throughout your career. If you learn to deal with adversity, you will stand out from other job seekers. This can be a learning experience to help you implement new skills that could help advance your career. Don’t worry or become frustrated over things, people or situations you can’t control. Always remember you have 100% control over how you choose to react.

STRATEGY #5 – UNDERSTAND THE IMPORTANCE OF TIMING 
Timing is everything when it comes to maintaining or advancing your career. You need to be open to new opportunities. Remember, keeping yourself marketable is the only job security you can obtain. You want to advance or make futurecareer changes on your terms versus that of your employers.

STRATEGY #6 – BUILD YOUR PROFESSIONAL NETWORK
It is important to have a professional network and a mentor. A mentor is someone who can help advise you, and has nothing to gain by their advice but understands your long-term goals. They can help you navigate company politics and show you how to position yourself to enjoy the greatest career growth.

Your professional network can open doors and provide referrals throughout your career. Social media has made networking relatively easy. The contacts you make should be developed throughout your entire career. These should be lifetime relationships.

By implementing these strategies, you will proactively protect yourself and your career. You will also position yourself properly for any future opportunities as they present themselves. These strategies help you maintain marketability and are the primary areas you will stress during job interviews.

FREE JOB SEEKER TRAINING WEBINARS 

Turn OBSTACLES to OPPORTUNITIES in Your Job Search
April 23rd @ 11:00 am EST (8:00 am PST, 9:00 am MST, 10:00 am CST)
Finding a job is not an easy process and you will encounter obstacles throughout your Job Search Process. During this session you will learn the following:

  • How to convert obstacles into opportunities
  • Why you should welcome objections
  • How to eliminate obstacles YOU are creating in your Job Search

Is Anxiety Negatively impacting your Job Search?
April 29th@ 2:00 pm EST (11:00 am PST, 12:00 pm MST, 1:00 pm CST)
A job search is never an easy process and often takes you out of your normal routine and comfort zone. Anxiety and fear can sabotage your chances of finding a new opportunity. During this session we will address the following:

  • How to identify your fears
  • How to overcome your fears
  • What it takes to turn anxiety into confidence

To register for the training, login to our Career Portal at www.fsgsite.com and click on the Webinar Tab. Then click on the event and register by clicking the webinar registration link for each event listed.

Comments